Nepal The Civil Service

Nepal Country Studies index

Nepal - The Civil Service

More about the Government of Nepal.

The civil service

The Nepal Civil Service Act, passed in 1956, classified all civil employees of the government into two categories--gazetted services and nongazetted services. Gazetted services included all services prescribed by the government by notification in the Nepal Raj Patra, the government gazette. In 1991 categories of the gazetted services were education, judicial, health, administrative, engineering, forest, agricultural, and miscellaneous services. The gazetted posts were further grouped into classes I, II, and III. Nongazetted posts also had several class echelons. As of 1990, there were approximately 80,000 civil service employees in all ranks.

According to the 1990 constitution, all members of the civil service are recruited through an open competitive examination conducted by the Public Service Commission. Police and military officers are excluded from the jurisdiction of the commission. The chairman and other members of the commission are appointed by the king on the recommendation of the Constitutional Council. The commission must be consulted in all matters concerning laws relating to the civil service--such as appointment, promotion, transfer, or departmental punishment. Tenure, benefits, and postings were regulated by the Nepal Civil Service Act of 1956.

You can read more regarding this subject on the following websites:

The Nepal Civil Service and Re-structuring of the State
Nepal's Civil Service System in Federal Structure | Nepal - Nepal - The Civil Service | Nepalese
Civil Service Rules 2050 - International Labour Organization
Nepal Civil Service Applicants from Marginalized Groups on

Nepal Country Studies index
Country Studies main page